Philippines hiring guide · Figures checked 28 October 2026

How to Hire in the Philippines in 2026: Four Pay Floors Moved in Eight Weeks

Four regions raised their daily pay floor between 1 September and 26 October 2026, and Metro Manila now sits at ₱755. We priced a ₱60,000 hire line by line, compared 17 regional floors, checked 12 providers on their own sites and worked exit pay through to pesos.

Manjuri Dutta
Researched and written byManjuri DuttaCo-founder and Editor, HR Stacks
12EOR providers checked on their own Philippines pages
17regional daily pay floors compared
4exit cases priced to the peso
17.1%employer add-on found on a ₱60,000 salary
Before you offer

Five figures to settle before you name a salary

They decide whether a ₱60,000 salary costs you ₱60,000 or closer to ₱70,000 once the statutory charges land.

Changed Sep 2026₱755Metro Manila daily floor under NCR-28 from 26 September, up from ₱695.
On a ₱60,000 salary17.1%Employer add-on before any EOR fee, counting SSS, PhilHealth, Pag-IBIG and the 13th month.
SSS ceiling₱35,000Salary credit cap. Pay above it adds no SSS cost, so the employer share stops at ₱3,530 a month.
Due every year24 DecLast day to pay the 13th month, one twelfth of basic salary earned in the year.
EOR fee range$199 to $699Starting monthly fee per employee on the vendor pages we read.
Budgeting traps

Four budgeting mistakes that throw off a Philippine offer

Pay floors moved in four regions this autumn, and the contribution caps changed in 2024 and 2025. An older cost sheet is wrong by a few hundred pesos a month per hire, every month.

₱650

Budgeting SSS on the 2024 ceiling

SSS has run at 15% on a salary credit capped at ₱35,000 since January 2025, with the employer paying 10%. A sheet built on the earlier 9.5% employer rate and ₱30,000 cap comes up ₱650 short each month on any salary above ₱35,000.

8.33%

Leaving the 13th month out of the offer

Employers owe one twelfth of basic pay earned in the year by 24 December. On ₱60,000 that is ₱5,000 a month to set aside, or ₱60,000 a year that a cost sheet without it never shows.

₱1,000

Charging Pag-IBIG on the whole salary

Pag-IBIG applies 2% to a monthly fund salary capped at ₱10,000 since February 2024, so the employer pays ₱200. Taking 2% of ₱60,000 instead overstates the cost by ₱1,000 a month.

₱173 a day

Pricing every hire at the Metro Manila floor

Floors follow the workplace, not the head office. Cebu City sits at ₱582 under the order in force from 14 October 2026 against ₱755 in Metro Manila, a gap of ₱4,498 a month on a 26-day basis.

Rates as in force on 28 October 2026. The regional gap is worked in the location table below, and every cap is applied in the receipt above.

Pay floor

What the Metro Manila floor change adds to one hire

NCR-28 lifted the non-agricultural floor from ₱695 to ₱755 on 26 September 2026. We priced one worker at each floor on a 26-day month with every employer charge applied.

Floor under NCR-26, from July 2025

₱18,070 a month
SSS and EC₱1,830
PhilHealth₱452
Pag-IBIG₱200
13th month₱1,506
Monthly add-on₱3,988

Floor under NCR-28, from 26 Sep 2026

₱19,630 a month
SSS and EC₱1,980
PhilHealth₱491
Pag-IBIG₱200
13th month₱1,636
Monthly add-on₱4,307
+₱22,548 a yearExtra cost per worker at the Metro Manila floor, made up of ₱1,560 more pay and ₱319 more in charges each month.
From our research

When we priced the same Metro Manila job under both orders, employer cost per month moved from ₱22,058 to ₱23,937. About 17% of that jump comes from contributions and the 13th month, not from pay.

Assumes 26 paid days a month and SSS salary credits of ₱18,000 and ₱19,500. NCR-26 took effect on 18 July 2025. NCR-27 is still in court and its ₱25 second step is not part of NCR-28.

Year one

A year-one budget at three published EOR fees

One hire at ₱60,000 a month, with the statutory add-ons from the receipt and an EOR fee at the lowest, middle and highest starting rates we found on vendor sites.

Lowest fee$199 a month
Mid-range fee$599 a month
Highest fee$699 a month
Gross salary, 12 months
₱720,000
₱720,000
₱720,000
Statutory add-ons, 12 months
₱122,760
₱122,760
₱122,760
EOR fee, 12 months
$2,388
$7,188
$8,388
Year-one total
₱842,760 + $2,388
₱842,760 + $7,188
₱842,760 + $8,388
From our research

Two providers publish different starting fees on different pages of their own sites. We used each pricing page, noted the gap, and let the highest published fee set the top column.

Not in these totals: refundable deposits, FX margins and charges for off-cycle payroll runs. Vendor pricing pages don’t always show them, so ask each provider for a country quote. Our EOR ranking covers how fees compare.

Calculator

Run your own salary through the Philippine rules

Enter any monthly salary to see SSS, PhilHealth, Pag-IBIG and the 13th month applied with their caps.

By region

Five regions, five different legal pay floors today

There’s no national minimum wage. Each regional wage board sets its own floor, and the rate follows the workplace, not the employee’s home address.

Region and hub
Daily floor
26-day month
In force from
Wage order
NCRMakati, Taguig, Manila
₱755
₱19,630
26 Sep 2026
NCR-28
CALABARZONCavite, Laguna
Up to ₱645
Up to ₱16,770
26 Oct 2026
IVA-23
Central LuzonPampanga, Bulacan
₱600
₱15,600
16 Apr 2026
RBIII-26
Central VisayasCebu City, Class A
₱582
₱15,132
14 Oct 2026
ROVII-27
Davao RegionDavao City
₱540
₱14,040
1 Sep 2026
RB XI-24
From our research

The NCR picture is messier than the headline. NCR-27, an ₱85 rise in two steps, is tied up in court, while NCR-28 reaches ₱755 from 26 September without the ₱25 second step, so we priced only NCR-28. We confirmed the Central Luzon and Davao rates from secondary reports only.

Daily floors for non-agricultural work as in force on 28 October 2026. Lower tiers apply to small retail, service and agricultural employers, for example ₱718 in NCR and ₱542 for Central Visayas Class B areas.

EOR or entity

When your own Philippine company costs less than an EOR

On published setup and running estimates, a Philippine subsidiary beats an EOR charging $599 from 2 staff on yearly running costs and from 3 staff once setup is counted. Capital is the catch.

EOR fees for the team, a yearOwn company, yearly running costOwn company in year one, with setup
1 employee$7,188
2 employees$14,376
3 employees$21,564
5 employees$35,940
8 employees$57,504
12 employees$86,256

EOR bars use a $599 fee, or $7,188 per employee a year. Entity costs are the latest confirmed published USD estimates from Emerhub (updated 6 October 2025): setup $5,500, then $13,450 a year to run for up to 10 staff, plus $240 a year per extra employee. The scale runs to $90,000.

From our research

Using published entity costs, the switch comes at 2 staff on running costs and 3 in year one at a $599 fee. At the $199 fee it takes 6 and 8.

These figures cover the company layer only. Salaries and contributions are the same under both models. The setup estimate assumes the foreign-owned minimum of USD 200,000 in paid-up capital, which has to be funded and isn’t counted above. Emerhub says the figure can be lowered for firms that hire at least 50 Filipinos or export most of their output.

Registration takes 4 to 5 months, so your first hire waits on an EOR either way. An EOR also doesn’t remove permanent establishment risk if your own staff sign contracts or make decisions in the country, and a company adds directors and an officer in trust. We’d start on an EOR and move staff across once the numbers turn.

Who employs

Which providers say they employ through a Philippine entity

We read each provider’s own Philippines page on 28 October 2026. A provider counts as an own-entity employer only when its page says so.

From our research

Four of 12 providers say on their own pages that they employ through a Philippine entity of their own. None says it uses a local partner. The Justworks and Pebl pages wouldn’t load, so both stay as not stated.

Ranked 1st of 12 globally
RemoFirst$199

Lowest published fee of the 12, with no setup or termination fees listed. Its Philippines page doesn’t name the legal employer, so ask which entity signs the contract.

Ranked 2nd of 12 globally
Deel$599

Its Philippines material describes a wholly owned local entity. The hiring page shows a management fee starting at $599.

Ranked 3rd of 12 globally
Remote.com$599

States that it owns its Philippine legal entity. The fee is $599 a month on an annual contract.

Ranked 4th of 12 globally
PeblQuote only

Built around compliance depth, with a Philippines fee that isn’t published. Confirm the entity and the price in writing before you sign.

Starting fees per employee per month from each vendor’s own site on 28 October 2026. Ranks come from our global EOR list until a Philippines ranking is live.

See all 12 ranked providers
Exit costs

What letting someone go costs after one, three, five and ten years

Separation pay depends on the cause as well as the tenure. We priced four cases on a ₱60,000 monthly salary, using the latest salary rate, with a fraction of six months or more counted as a full year.

1 year, redundancy₱60,000
Notice30 days, paid as salary
Basis1 month, the minimum
With final payPro-rated 13th month
3 years, closure without losses₱90,000
Notice30 days, paid as salary
BasisHalf a month a year, 1.5 months
With final payPro-rated 13th month
5 years, redundancy₱300,000
Notice30 days, paid as salary
Basis1 month a year, 5 months
With final payPro-rated 13th month
10 years, redundancy₱600,000
Notice30 days, paid as salary
Basis1 month a year, 10 months
With final payPro-rated 13th month
From our research

Worked through, redundancy after ten years on ₱60,000 a month comes to ₱600,000, twice the ₱300,000 owed after five.

Process and deadlines. Authorized-cause dismissals need 30 days’ written notice to the worker and to DOLE, and the law doesn’t allow pay in lieu of notice. Just-cause dismissals owe no separation pay but need a written notice and a chance to respond. Final pay is due within 30 days of separation under DOLE Labor Advisory 6 of 2020.

Retirement pay is separate. From age 60 with 5 years of service it is 22.5 days a year, which on a 26-day month comes to ₱519,231 after 10 years.

Contractors and visas

Contractor test and the foreign hire route

Philippine courts weigh who selects the worker, who pays, who can dismiss and who controls how the work is done. Answer these five before you sign a contractor agreement.

1

Do you set their working hours?

Yes adds risk
2

Do you direct how the work is done, not only what is delivered?

Yes adds risk
3

Do you pay a fixed monthly amount instead of per deliverable?

Yes adds risk
4

Did you select and onboard them the way you do staff?

Yes adds risk
5

Can you end the arrangement or replace them at will?

Yes adds risk
From our research

We couldn’t confirm a current permit fee or validity rule under DOLE Department Order 248-B of 11 June 2026, which moved processing to the central office. Treat 15 working days as the statutory target and ask for current timing before you plan a start date.

How we worked

How we checked the numbers on this page

Manjuri Dutta
Manjuri Dutta

Co-founder and Editor, HR Stacks

Manjuri runs the editorial process behind our provider reviews and country hiring guides. She has more than ten years of editorial experience, the last five spent on employer of record and global employment.

More from Manjuri
  • Worked in Python. The receipt, the Metro Manila floor comparison, the year-one budget, the break-even and four exit cases were all calculated in code and rounded only for display.
  • Rates and floors. SSS, PhilHealth and Pag-IBIG rates and caps were matched across several compliance publishers that cite the statutes and circulars. Pay floors came from reports on 17 regional wage orders.
  • Provider check. On 28 October 2026 we read the Philippines page of 12 providers on their own sites. The Justworks and Pebl pages wouldn’t load, so both stay as not stated.
  • Scenarios. The break-even used published USD setup and running costs at three EOR fees of $199, $599 and $699. Exit pay was worked to pesos for 1, 3, 5 and 10 years.
  • Rechecks. We recheck every six months and whenever SSS, PhilHealth, Pag-IBIG, a wage order or the permit rules change. The next scheduled check is April 2027.
FAQ

Questions employers ask before hiring in the Philippines

How to hire in the Philippines without setting up a local company?
Use an employer of record, which holds the contract and pays the contributions for you. Starting fees on the vendor pages we read run from $199 to $699 a month per employee, and you can compare them in our EOR ranking. Setting up your own company instead needs USD 200,000 in paid-up capital for a foreign-owned firm.
How much does it cost to employ someone in the Philippines on ₱60,000 a month?
About ₱70,230 a month before any EOR fee. SSS adds ₱3,530, PhilHealth ₱1,500, Pag-IBIG ₱200 and the 13th month accrual ₱5,000, which is 17.1% on top of gross pay.
What is the minimum wage in Manila in 2026?
₱755 a day for most non-agricultural workers in Metro Manila from 26 September 2026 under NCR-28, up from ₱695. Smaller retail, service and agricultural employers pay ₱718.
Is 13th month pay mandatory in the Philippines?
Yes. Employers pay one twelfth of basic salary earned in the year by 24 December. On ₱60,000 a month that is ₱60,000, and leavers get a pro-rated amount with their final pay.
How much is the employer SSS contribution in 2026?
It is 10% of the monthly salary credit, which is capped at ₱35,000, plus a ₱30 Employees’ Compensation charge. The most an employer pays is ₱3,530 a month.
How much is separation pay in the Philippines?
Redundancy pays one month per year of service, and closure without serious losses pays at least half a month per year, never under one month. On ₱60,000 a month, five years of redundancy comes to ₱300,000.
Do foreign employees need a work permit in the Philippines?
Yes. They need an Alien Employment Permit from DOLE plus a 9(g) visa, and the statutory permit time is 15 working days from fee payment. DOLE’s central office has issued permits since June 2026, so allow extra time.
At how many employees does a Philippine company beat an EOR?
On published setup and running costs, from 2 staff on yearly running costs and 3 in year one at a $599 fee. At $199 the figures are 6 and 8, and a foreign-owned company also needs USD 200,000 in paid-up capital.

Shortlist a Philippine EOR with the costs in hand

Compare 12 providers on price, coverage and who holds the contract.

Compare Philippines EOR providers

This website uses cookies to enhance user experience and to analyze performance and traffic on our website. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.